Six months in

So it’s been six months. Maybe more, I can’t honestly remember. I have a toddler at home, and that means time passes in some Twilight Zone-esque way where days sometimes seem to last for years but months seem to pass like weeks.

So, it’s been at least six months. And a lot has changed in that time.

I can do more partner crunches than I could at the beginning, and I am no longer as out of breath as I used to be at the end of class.

I am stronger than I was, and more flexible. (Though, for me, this is like saying “I used to have the flexibility of an arthritic 90-year-old, and now I move like I’m a spry 75, instead. Oh well, it’s an improvement. :D)

I feel more centered and relaxed. I am not nearly as stressed out as I was.

Sure, my knees still hurt more often than I’d like. And, sure, if I throw a side or roundhouse kick, the only thing I’ll hurt is your knees. But I’m working on it.

Slowly, but surely, I am making progress. And I’ve made friends and forged memories that will stay with me.

Six months. Three belts. I still hate circuits.

Do I think that will change? I’ll let you know when I hit six hundred months…

Comments
2 Responses to “Six months in”
  1. Great post Brian. A wise Sensei once told me, “It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey.”

  2. kickassprincess says:

    You should be very proud of the progress you’ve made. How exciting to look back at where you started, and realize there is more to come!

    And hey – what’s wrong with taking out a knee? We practice throwing kicks up high so we can be Sumo-powerful when we’re kicking down low!

    One day. you’ll feel it..Circuit LOVE! You’ll see. Banzai!

Leave a Reply

