New Black Belts

Congratulations to three of our students, Philip Mosher, Paul Castro and Michele Weissensee (Jarchow) on reaching provisional black belt. Last night, they fought in their black belt gauntlet and earned this interim rank. In April 2012 they will be testing for full Shodan (first degree black belt) at the annual United States Kenpo Kobujitsu (USKK) Black Belt Test.

Nearly four years ago these three, along with a handful of others, were the first students to start with me at the Perceptive Software Karate Club. Now, thousands of hours of training, competing in tournaments and assisting in teaching later, I’m proud that they’ve stayed the path and am honored to have them as my first black belts.

We have several other students of all ranks that I hope stay with us, train hard and join these three as certified black belts under me and the USKK.

Congratulations. The journey is just beginning.

Renshi.

 

Comments
3 Responses to “New Black Belts”
  1. Matt says:

    Congrats guys, well deserved!

  2. Richard Piper says:

    I was honored to be a part of this passageway to the Brotherhood. All are students and all are teachers. Congratulations to all.

  3. kickassprincess says:

    Every time I open my gym bag and see my provisional black belt, I get just a wee bit giddy. I had no idea that a simple black belt with a red stripe could excite me so! I can only wonder how I’ll feel when I earn my full black belt with the kanji and my name on it.

Leave a Reply

